Soul Train Awards 2011: List Of Nominations


Nominations for 2011 Soul Train Awards were announced last Friday 21 October. Chris Brown leads with 5 nominations, followed by Beyonce and Kanye West  with 4 nominations each.

Not far behind them  are Kelly Rowland, Adele, Miguel and Marsha Ambrosius with three nominations a piece. Remember? Last year Gyptian won Soul Train Award with his global hit “Hold Yuh” in Reggae category.

BET and Soul Train  recently announced that they  discontinued Reggae category substituting it with Best Caribbean Performance. The nominations for this new category are : Rhianna with Man Down, Mavado with Delilah, Montano with Bend Over and Vybz Kartel with Summertime.

The show will tape in Atlanta on November 17 th and will air on November 27 on both BET and Cedric cable channels. Cedric The Entertainer will host, and  Lloyd, Miguel, Melanie Fiona, are just some of the names among the scheduled performers.Check out the full list of nominees in all categories below.

Watch Vybz Kartel official video -Summer Time


Best New Artist
Bruno Mars

Marsha Ambrosius
Frank Ocean

Best Male R&B/Soul Artist
Trey Songz

Chris Brown
R. Kelly
Cee Lo Green
Eric Benet

Centric Award

Raphael Saddiq
Anthony David
Aloe Blacc

Best Caribbean Performance
“Man Down” -Rihanna

“Summer Time” -Vybz Kartel
“Wotless” -Kes The Band
“Bend Over” – Machel Montano
“Delilah” – Movado

Best Gospel Performance
“I Smile” – Kirk Franklin

“Walking” – Mary Mary
“Heaven Hear My Heart” – Trin-I-Tee 5:7
“I Believe” – James Fortune ft. Shawn McLemore
“More” – Cece Winans

Album of the Year
21 – Adele

F.A.M.E – Chris Brown
4 – Beyonce
Passion Pain & Pleasure – Trey Songz
Light of the Sun – Jill Scott
Watch The Throne – Jay Z and Kanye West

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
“Moment for Life” – Nicki Minaj

“All of the Lights”- Kanye West ft. Rihanna
“Look at Me Now” – Chris Brown feat. Busta Rhymes and Lil’ Wayne
“Out of My Head” – Lupe Fiasco
“Otis” -  Jay Z and Kanye West

Best Female R&B/Soul Artist
Kelly Rowland

Marsha Ambrosius
Jennifer Hudson
Jill Scott
Mary J. Blige

Song of the Year
“Motivation” – Kelly Rowland feat. Lil’ Wayne

“Sure Thing”- Miguel
“Rolling in the Deep” – Adele
“She Ain’t You” – Chris Brown
“All of the Lights” – Kanye West
“So In Love” – Jill Scott ft. Anthony Hamilton

Record of the Year (The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award)
“Rolling in the Deep” – Adele (Writers: Adele, Paul Epworth)
“Far Away” – Marsha Ambrosius (Writers: Marsha Ambrosius, Sterling Simms)
“Best Thing I Never Had” – Beyonce (Writers: Antonio Dixon; Kenneth Edmonds; Larry Griffin, Jr.; Beyoncé Knowles; Caleb McCampbell; Patrick Smith; Shea Taylor)
“Good Man” – Raphael Saddiq (Writers: Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson)
“Hold My Hand” (Duet with Akon) – Michael Jackson (Writers: Aliaune Thiam (Akon), Giorgio Tuinfort, Claude Kelly)

Best Dance Performance
“Motivation” – Kelly Rowland

“Only Girl in the World”/”What’s My Name” – Rihanna
“Run The World” – Beyonce
“She Ain’t You” – Chris Brown
“Walking” – Mary Mary
“Pretty Girl Rock” – Keri Hilson

2011 Soul Train Award Legend Award Recipients
Gladys Knight

Earth Wind and Fire

Traditional Jazz*
“In Concert On Broadway” – Harry Connick Jr.

“James Farm”- Eric Harland
“Light My Fire”- Eliane Elias
“Silver Pony”- Cassandra Wilson
“What’s It All About” – Pat Metheny

Contemporary Jazz*
“Contact” – Boney James

“Hello Tomorrow” – Dave Koz
“Rock-et Sci-ence ”- Bela Fleck
“Let’s Touch The Sky”- Fourplay
“Time Together”- Michael Franks

*Viewers choice awards to be housed online

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger... real deal



One thought on “Soul Train Awards 2011: List Of Nominations

  1. Antok

    BUMBOCLAAAT! A gully mi seh, but dis mad. Dis a di ol’ kartel mi know from when him did ina nclialae. Yow, mi know kartel love di oman dem, but jah know, di man need fi return to di gun tune dem. MMMAAADDD!!!

Comments are closed.